Sunday, February 1, 2009

Flag of India

The national flag of India was adopted in 1947 and is based on the flag of the Indian National Congress, designed by Pingali Venkayya. The flag's stripes are "deep saffron" at the top, white in the middle, and green at the bottom. The navy blue wheel decorating the center has 24 spokes; it's also known as the "Ashoka Chakra," taken from the Lion capital of Asoka erected atop Ashoka pillar at Sarnath.
The flag specifications require that the flag be made only of "khadi," a special type of hand-spun cloth made popular by Mahatma Gandhi.
16 days to pack my suitcase . . 

No comments:

Post a Comment